Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Responsible Organizational Structure

Information System Security Officer

The Information Systems Security Officer is responsible for the administration of this policy, including the definition of documentation standards are noted section 2.1.1. The IUP Information Systems Security Officer is the Provost. The Provost will delegate operational responsibility and accountability to the senior managers within each IUP technology Operational Group as detailed in 1.2.2 (Deans, Director Technology Services Center, Director Academic Technology Services).


IUP advisory and operational technology units are defined as follows:

Advisory Groups

Academic Computing Policy Advisory Committee (ACPAC) - consists of faculty representatives from each college as well as representatives from university administrative and support units. Serves the role of reviewing policy and providing advice regarding technology support related to the academic mission.

Administrative Computing Oversight Committee (ACOC) - defines priorities, standards, and future directions for administrative computing. ACOC includes representatives appointed by the Vice President of each division, the Council of Deans and the Technology Services Center.

Academic Technology Operations Group (AOG) - has authority and responsibility for implementation, management, and operations of academic technology support throughout the Academic Affairs Division of the university as directed by the Council of Deans. The AOG works in conjunction with the independent college technology structures to coordinate overall academic computing operations. Furthermore, AOG has the authority to recommend policy related to academic technology and the responsibility to provide technical input to departments and units throughout the university as it relates to academic technology issues.

Technology Utilities Council (TUC) - makes recommendations concerning those aspects of technology that need to be provided centrally or that need to be coordinated between the academic and administrative areas. The concept that certain functions should be viewed as utilities assures that the two areas do not have conflicting infrastructures. Consists of representatives from ACPAC and ACOC plus ex officio members and the Provost. Meets quarterly and chaired jointly by the Director of the TSC and the Director of ATS.

Operational Groups

Technology Services Center (TSC) - responsible for support of administrative computing and the administrative network including applications development. In addition, the network and computing infrastructure is managed by the TSC. The TSC Director reports to the Vice Provost for Administration and Technology.

Academic Technology Services (ATS) - Provides primary technology support to assigned units and secondary support to the CTMs. Provides coordination for academic technology issues. The Director of ATS reports jointly to the Vice Provost for Administration and Technology and the dean co-chair of AOG.

College Technology Managers (CTMs) - one CTM for each of six colleges, and the library. The CTM is responsible for matters related to the implementation and management of technology within their respective unit. Each CTM reports to a College Dean who has IT operational responsibility and accountability within the college.

Corporate Information Services (Central Services)

Services: E-mail, university web presence, business systems, network services & infrastructure (IP addresses, Internet connectivity), software administration, central user name space management.

  • Advisory body: TUC
  • Implementation/operational unit: TSC

Business Unit Information Services (Decentralized services)

Administrative Services: support for administrative business units (Administration and Finance, Student Affairs, Institutional Advancement, Academic Affairs administrative staff)

  • Advisory unit: ACOC
  • Implementation/operational unit: TSC

Academic Services: (Colleges, Branches, Centers & Institutes, Academic Staff) end-user support, local network administration & network services, application specific services (eg. disciplinary-specific software/hardware), computer labs, technology classrooms, administrative offices (eg: academic department offices).

  • Advisory units: AOG, ACPAC
  • Implementation/operational units: ATS, CTMs, and others (Vocational Personnel Preparation Center, Highway Safety Center, etc). Housing/student services: providing access to campus network services for student residents, residence hall computer labs. o Advisory units: AOG, ACPAC
  • Implementation/operational unit: Housing and Residence Life (technology manager).
  • Institute for Cyber Security
  • Stright Hall, Room 319
    210 South Tenth Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2524
  • Fax: 724-357-2724
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.