Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Graduate Dean's Award for Outstanding Commitment to Sponsored Programs

WMD Research and Development Group

Dr. Roberta Eddy, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
Dr. John Wood, Professor, Department of Chemistry
Dr. Allan Andrew, Professor, Department of Biology
Dr. N. Bharathan, Associate Professor, Department of Biology
Dr. Seema Bharathan, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Dr. Vythilingam Wijekumar (VJ), Professor, Department of Physics

In the year 2000-2001, Concurrent Technologies Corporation ( CTC ) of Johnstown , Pa., awarded funds to IUP to begin the first year of a multi-year WMD-REALITI project. The focus of this project is to develop an accredited (professional and academic) education, training and research program designed to provide novice, intermediate, apprentice, and advanced laboratory technicians with knowledge, skills and abilities comparable to those needed to work in a Chemical Surety or BSL3 laboratory.

In July of 2002, a second project began at IUP, that of the Base Response Preparedness, Weapons of Mass Destruction Advanced Training Program at IUP. The focus of this project is to establish and deliver degree programs in domestic preparedness and homeland security to local, state, and federal first responders in the WMD Community. This program is also funded by CTC .

In 2003, the National Guard Bureau (NGB) WMD-REALITI Sustainment Project began. The purpose of this project is to develop and deliver special training modules of WMD courses to the Nuclear Medical Science Officers on the NGB's Weapons of Mass Destruction Civil Support Teams.

Since January of 2001, more than $1.5 million has been granted to IUP to support the development of national capacity in the areas of domestic preparedness and homeland security.



  • School of Graduate Studies and Research
  • Assistant Dean for Research
    Stright Hall, Room 113
    210 South Tenth Street
    Indiana, PA 15705-1081
  • Phone: 724-357-7730
  • Fax: 724-357-2715
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.