Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Merle Klinginsmith Award for Excellence

Merle Klinginsmith taught graphics at Indiana University of Pennsylvania from 1966 to 1983. He had a great impact on his students. An award for excellence was created in his honor in 1984 to recognize outstanding undergraduate seniors in Communications Media and graduate students in Adult Education and Communications Technology on the basis of submitted portfolios and demonstrated academic excellence in accordance with the high standards set by Merle Klinginsmith.

There were no awards given from 1987 to 1996, but the award was reinstated and awarded to the most qualified student in 1997 with the introduction of a new AECT program.

The following graduates are recipients of the Merle Klinginsmith Award for Excellence:

James Moyer, Jr., 1984
Ronald L. Mabon, 1985
Stephen J. Pasierb, 1986
Jennifer Koons, 1997
Anna Grobler, 1998
Christina Vucinich, 1999
Amy L. Eger, 2000
David B. Porter, 2001
Sean M. Sadler, 2002
Jeffrey J. Fratangeli, 2003
Vanessa M. Graber, 2004
Joel Rodriguez, 2005
Edward D. Sigworth 
Aaron C. Yorchak, 2006
Michael Link, 2007
Brian Scarpiniti, 2008
Stephanie Keppich, 2009
Andrew Morris, 2011
Thaddaeus Dachille, 2012
Kelly Ekdahl, 2014
Jenelle Dickason, 2015
Theron Binder, 2016

  • Adult and Community Education Department
  • Davis Hall, Room 104
    570 South Eleventh Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2470
  • Fax: 724-357-3085
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.