Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Ten to be Honored by IUP Hall of Fame

The thirteenth annual IUP Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place Saturday, September 20, at the Indiana Country Club. A reception will begin at 11:00 a.m., followed by the luncheon at noon.

The following will be honored.

1960, Billy Hoffman – Football

Quarterback in football and top baseball player of 1950s.

1975, Len Pesotini – Football

Led all college football receivers in nation (NCAA Divisions)—team-record 74 catches and 1,088 yards in senior year. NAIA All-American and New York Times All-East.

1981, Sam Scott – Basketball

Among all-time top five in both career scoring (1,369 points) and rebounds (fourth with 738).

1982, Jeff Brown – Basketball 

Seventh leading scorer in school history with 1,361 points. Selected to NABC Division II Eastern Regional Team. 

1985, Ben Witter – Golf 

Won NCAA long-drive contest at NCAA national tournament. 

1988, Beth Blaisdell – Softball 

Pitched eighty-four games (sixty-four complete for 43-34 record) in four years. Charted 1.40 ERA as she started twenty-six games, including a no-hitter. Led IUP to PSAC tournament. Career ERA of 1.29.

1990, Jeff Neral – Track and Field 

NCAA Division II national champion in javelin in 1990 after having been All American as sophomore and junior. Holds team record in javelin.

1993, Cathy Torchia Suman – Women’s Basketball

1990 West Rookie Player of the Year award. Individual game records for most points scored (1,722).

1937, Trevor Hadley (deceased)

Long-time dean of students and VP for Student Affairs. Also served as tennis coach.

Jim Laughlin ’51 – Honorary Bell Ringer Award

Initiated the Hall of Fame at IUP. Continues to support Athletics by tutoring and mentoring athletes.