Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Association of Management Information Systems

Mission of Organization

To provide a forum for IUP students interested in the Management Information Systems (MIS) field to:

  • Learn additional skills and knowledge about MIS.
  • Better prepare themselves for careers in MIS through discussion of resume writing/interviewing/networking skills and in the dissemination of information on jobs and internship opportunities.
  • Meet and socialize with other students interested in MIS.

How to Join

Meetings are currently held in Eberly 111 on Thursdays every two weeks at 7:00 p.m. All of our events and meetings are listed on our Facebook page— IUP A.M.I.S. or contact Dr. Hyde at micki.hyde@iup.edu.

Requirements of Members (Membership Fees, Attendance, etc.)

A.M.I.S. requires membership dues of $25 per semester or $45 for the whole academic year. This covers both Fall and Spring semesters. Though attendance is not required, it is highly encouraged. Students of any major can join AMIS.

List of Meeting Dates/Times/Locations/Agenda/Handouts

Please check the A.M.I.S. board across from the M.I.S. office on the second floor in the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology for continued updates and promotions.

    All meeting times and locations are subject to change, so attend meetings or visit our Facebook page, IUP A.M.I.S., for updates.

    List of 2013–2014 Events/Activities


    • Professional development with various industry professionals
    • LAN Parties
    • Guest speakers
    • Bayer Database Tour
    • Annual E-Cycling Event

    Member Quotes about the Value of the Organization

    “A.M.I.S. allows members to get a more hands-on view of information systems than they would in a classroom -- by hearing from others in the field, going to businesses, and conversing with peers who have a broad base in business and information systems.”
    —Aaron Corso, Past President

    Officers
    Advisor Dr. Micki Hyde hydem@iup.edu
    Advisor Dr. Pankaj Pankaj@iup.edu
    President Deric Schmidt D.C.Schmidt@iup.edu
    Executive Vice President Nathan Adams N.D.Adams3@iup.edu
    Vice President of Communications and Social Chair Adam Hannisick A.E.Hannisick@iup.edu
    Secretary/Treasurer and Community Service Chair Patrice Douglas P.D.Douglas@iup.edu
    Professional Development Chair Jason Kephart J.M.Kephart@iup.edu 
    Fundraising Chair Jeff Smith J.A.Smith26@iup.edu
    • Eberly College of Business and Information Technology
    • Office of Academic Services
      208 Eberly
      664 Pratt Drive
      Indiana, PA 15705
    • Phone: 724-357-3215
    • Fax: 724-357-7996
    • Office Hours
    • Monday through Friday
    • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
    • 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.