Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

American Marketing Association

Mission of Organization

The mission of the American Marketing Association is to educate marketing students about the opportunities available to them within the various facets of the field. A variety of marketing projects will enhance their hands-on experience to supplement their classroom knowledge. This will be enhanced through tours, guest speakers, networking events, competitions, and coordination with faculty.

How to Join

To join, contact the president or vice president listed below. Information is also provided on our bulletin board outside the Marketing Department on the fourth floor of Eberly. 

Requirements of Members (Membership Fees, Attendance, etc.)

$72 membership fee. $25 goes to SMA, and $47 goes to the American Marketing Association for the national dues. Turn in $25 collegiate chapter dues to the treasurer in cash or check.

We want to reward members who help out, so a point system has been established to encourage participation within the organization. Points are granted by volunteering for community service, assisting with fundraisers, and attending social events, meetings, guest speakers, and company tours.

Members must earn at least 8 points per semester to be considered an active member. Members that achieve at least 15 points before the end of each semester will receive a reward.

Spring 2017 List of Meeting Dates/Times/Locations/Agenda/Handouts

Weekly meetings are held in Eberly 309 at 7:30 PM unless otherwise noted. 

Crimson Connect

Wednesday, February 22

6:00–7:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium

Guest Speaker – IUP Alumnus Phil Henry – Henry Wealth Management

“Old School and New School Ways to Get a Job”

7:00 p.m., Kovalchick Complex

Basketball Game Social – Reserved AMA Section 114

Wednesday, March 1

7:30 p.m., Eberly 309

Meeting – Team Building Activity

Monday, March 20–Friday, March 24

AMA IUPatty’s T-shirt Fundraiser

Wednesday, March 22

7:30 p.m., Eberly 309

Resume/Interview Workshop – Enterprise

Wednesday, March 29

7:30 p.m., Eberly 309

Meeting

Wednesday, April 5

7:30 p.m., Eberly 309

Meeting

Saturday, April 8

Into the Streets

Information TBD

Friday, April 14–Saturday, April 15

Pittsburgh trip

Wednesday, April 19

7:30 p.m., Eberly 309

Meeting

Wednesday, April 26

7:30 p.m., Eberly 309

Meeting – Officer Elections

Member Quotes about the Value of the Organization:

“SMA has changed my life tremendously. It is a great networking opportunity.”
—Anthony Constantine, former SMA member

“SMA is a great way to get involved and offers great networking opportunities.”
—Mia DeNardo, former SMA member 

Officers
Role Name E-mail
Advisor Charlene Bebko
Charlene.Bebko@iup.edu
President Mallory Finch m.g.finch@iup.edu
Vice President Tim Grunklee
t.r.grunklee@iup.edu
Secretary Jillian Gude
j.m.gude@iup.edu
Treasurer Greg Wharton
m.d.fadley@iup.edu
Marketing Coordinator
Nikki Papadopolos
N.M.Papadoplos@iup.edu
Fundraising Chair
Emily Bair
e.g.bair@iup.edu
Community Outreach Chair Garrett Baerg
g.j.baerg@iup.edu
Social Chair
Kyle Sharon
k.n.sharon@iup.edu