Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

David A. Schwartz Memorial Journalism Scholarship

Journalism majors at IUP are invited to apply for the 2014–2015 scholarship during the Spring 2014 semester.

Journalism majors who will be juniors or seniors in Fall 2014 are eligible to apply. Applicants must show promise in any field of journalism, display strong interest, and demonstrate potential for future success and community service.

The winner will be awarded $835.

How to apply

  • Download and complete an application form.
  • Applicants should submit a completed application form and a letter with accompanying resume that detail qualifications. 
  • Finalists may be invited to an interview by the awarding panel.
  • Scholarships will be announced in April and awarded in the 2014–2015 academic year.
  • Submit the application package to the Journalism Department no later than 2:00 p.m. on March 3, 2014.

The David A. Schwartz Memorial Journalism Scholarship was established in 1979 for the purpose of awarding scholarship grants to worthy Journalism students at IUP in keeping with the high personal and professional standards set by David A. Schwartz, the young journalist for whom the award is named.

It was established through the generous contributions of Allen and Dorothy Schwartz, parents of David A. Schwartz, of Lebanon, Pa., the publishers of the Indiana Gazette, and many friends on campus as well as in the larger Indiana community.

  • Journalism and Public Relations Department
  • Davis Hall, Room 434
    570 South Eleventh Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-4411
  • Fax: 724-357-7845
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.