Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Scholarships for Incoming Freshmen in Education and Educational Technology

Ruth Cox Claypoole Scholarship for Elementary Education

Awarded to entering freshmen from either Indiana or Armstrong Counties, majoring in elementary education with a 2.5 or better GPA.

Glenn C. Hess '37 and Virginia Niessner Hess Scholarship Fund

Applicants must be a full-time entering freshman with a declared major in Pre-K-4 Early Childhood Education or K-8 with Special Education.  Preference is given to students demonstrating financial need.

Carol Moorhead Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship awarded to incoming freshmen with preference given to students enrolled in early childhood education.  Award is made by the University Scholarship Committee.

Ethel L. Morrow Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to an entering freshman enrolled as a full-time student in the College of Education and Educational Technology. The student must score 1000 or better on the SAT and be ranked in the top 10 percent of his/her class. The student must demonstrate good character, leadership, and promise for success. Consideration is given to students who demonstrate financial need.

Edna Pierce Memorial Scholarship

Awarded yearly to a freshman majoring in teacher education.  Must be a graduate of Indiana Area Senior High School. 

Lulu Braughler Stewart Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship, established in memory of a 1924 graduate of Indiana Normal School who taught for many years in Indiana County public schools, benefits graduates from Marion Center High School who plan to pursue a degree in elementary education at IUP.

Donald and Mildred Shank Scholarship Fund

Awarded to graduates of Indiana County high schools with a declared major in Early Childhood Education/Special Education or Middle Level Education.

Barbara Thomas Scholarship

Awarded to graduates of high schools in Clearfield County, Pennsylvania, who enroll to study Elementary Education. Renewal of the scholarship is contingent upon the recipient maintaining a 2.5 cumulative grade-point average each year.

Marion B. Welsch Memorial Scholarship

Established by a 1925 alumna, this scholarship is awarded to talented and deserving students enrolled in the College of Education and Educational Technology who demonstrate financial need in obtaining their education.

  • Dr. Edward W. Nardi, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
  • College of Education and Educational Technology
    Indiana University of Pennsylvania
    Stouffer Hall, Room 104
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2480
  • Financial Aid Service Counter Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.