Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

The Common Data Set (CDS) initiative is a collaborative effort among data providers in the higher education community and publishers as represented by the College Board, Peterson’s-Thomson Learning, and U.S. News & World Report. The combined goal of this collaboration is to improve the quality and accuracy of information provided to all involved in a student’s transition into higher education, as well as to reduce the reporting burden on data providers.

This goal is attained by the development of clear, standard data items and definitions in order to determine a specific cohort relevant to each item. Data items and definitions used by the U.S. Department of Education in its higher education surveys often serve as a guide in the continued development of the CDS. Common Data Set items undergo broad review by the CDS Advisory Board as well as by data providers representing secondary schools and two- and four-year colleges. Feedback from those who utilize the CDS also is considered throughout the annual review process.

The Common Data Set includes the following sections:

  • Section A: General Information
  • Section B: Enrollment and Persistence
  • Section C: First-time, First-year Admission
  • Section D: Transfer Admission
  • Section E: Academic Offerings and Policies
  • Section F: Student Life
  • Section G: Annual Expenses
  • Section H: Financial Aid
  • Section I: Instructional Faculty and Class Size
  • Section J: Degrees Conferred

Common Data Set Definitions

Common Data Set 2014–15

Historical Common Data Sets:

Common Data Set 2013–14

Common Data Set 2012–13

Common Data Set, 2011–12

Common Data Set (2010–11)

Common Data Set (2009–10)

Common Data Set (2008-09)

Common Data Set (2007–08)

Common Data Set (2006–07)

Common Data Set (2005–06)

  • Office of Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment
  • Sutton Hall, Room 401
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-4077
  • Fax: 724-357-3833
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.