Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Faculty and Staff Overview

Faculty

  • Holly Boda-Sutton, Director, IUP Dance Theater Company
    Professor, Dance Theater director, choreographer, performer
    MFA, Dance—Texas Woman’s University
    MEd, Administration—Salisbury State University
    BS, Business—University of Northern Colorado

    Office: Zink Dance Theater
    Phone: 724-357-4865
    hboda@iup.edu
  • Dr. Carrie Cole 
    Assistant Professor, performance
    PhD, Theater and Performance Studies—University of Maryland
    MA, Theater Studies—University of Arizona
    BA, Theater—Willamette University

    Office: Waller 206F
    Phone:724-357-4474
    Carrie.Cole@iup.edu 
  • April Daras
    Assistant professor, director, actor
    MFA, Directing—Florida State University
    BA, Theater—Florida State University

    Office: Waller 206H
    Phone: 724-357-4026
    April.Daras@iup.edu
  • Robert Gretta
    Assistant professor, musical theater
    MFA, Directing—Florida State University
    BA, Theater—Indiana University of Pennsylvania

    Office: Waller 206B
    Phone: 724-357-4037
    Robert.Gretta@iup.edu
  • Brian R. Jones, Department Chair
    Professor, scenery designer, lighting designer
    MFA, Theater Design—University of Florida
    BA, Theater—Wabash College

    Office: Waller 104
    Phone: 724-357-2965
    brjones@iup.edu
  • Dr. Rick Kemp
    Professor, actor, director, devised theater creator
    PhD, Theater—University of Pittsburgh
    MFA, Performance Pedagogy—University of Pittsburgh
    MA, English Literature—Oxford University
    BA, English Literature—Oxford University

    Office: Waller 206E
    Phone: 724-357-1220
    rkemp@iup.edu
  • G. Patrick McCreary, Technical Director
    Assistant professor, technical director, theater consultant
    MFA, Theater Technology—Rutgers University
    BA, Theater—Rutgers University

    Office: Waller 206D
    Phone: 724-357-2644
    gpatrick@iup.edu
  • Nancy Pipkin-Hutchinson
    Assistant professor, costume design and technology
    MFA, Dramatic Arts (Costume Design) - University of California
    BA, Theater Arts - Catawba College

    Office: Waller 206C 
    Phone: 724-357-4026
    npipkin@iup.edu
  • Nicholas Quinn
    Assistant Professor, sound design and videography

    Office: Waller 206A
    Phone: 724-357-2777
    nichoals.quinn@iup.edu
  • Dr. Michael Schwartz
    Assistant Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, playwright
    PhD, Theater—University of Pittsburgh
    MA, English—Long Island University, Brooklyn
    BA, English major and Fine Arts minor—Georgetown University

    Office: Waller 206I
    Phone: 724-357-2169
    michael.schwartz@iup.edu
  • Joan Van Dyke
    Associate professor, choreographer, performer
    MFA, Dance—Arizona State University
    MS, Ballet—Indiana University, Bloomington
    BA, Ballet—Virginia Intermont College

    Office: Zink Dance Theater
    Phone: 724-357-5528
    jvandyke@iup.edu

Theater and Dance Staff

Theater and Dance Emeritus Faculty

Barbara Blackledge
Professor, actor/director, chairperson

Dr. Malcolm Bowes (deceased)
Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, director, actor, chairperson

Dr. Donald G. Eisen
Professor, theater historian, dramaturg, director, actor, chairpoerson
dgeisen@comcast.net
Retired: 12/30/94

Dr. Robert Ensley (deceased)
Professor, actor/director, chairperson

Patricia Lommock
Associate professor, choreographer, Asian dance  
Retired: 1/1/99

Ed Simpson
Professor, playwright, actor, director 
Retired: 8/18/06

  • Theater and Dance Department
  • Waller Hall, Room 104
    401 South Eleventh Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2965
  • Fax: 724-357-3885
  • Department Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.