Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Women in Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program

On March 31, 2014, the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics held IUP’s ninth annual Women in Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program, which showcased the work of female IUP students and faculty. 

Prior to a poster session and an awards ceremony, 23 high school students from the area, including students from Indiana, Marion-Center, Homer-Center, West Shamokin, and United school districts, participated in a tour of selected research laboratories. 

A number of student research posters were selected by a panel of judges for awards.

During the awards ceremony, Estefania Alba-Rodriguez, Biochemistry major with a minor in Mathematics, was recognized as recipient of the 2013–2014 Patricia Hilliard-Robertson Memorial Scholarship.

Congratulations to all students who presented their work!

(A Module of the Research Appreciation Week)

March 31, 2014
3:30–6:30 p.m.
First floor of Weyandt Hall

The College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics is sponsoring a program on March 31, 3:30–6:30 p.m., as part of the Research Appreciation Week highlighting scholarly accomplishments of female undergraduate/graduate students and faculty.

High School Student Visit and Tour

3:30–4:30 p.m., Weyandt and Walsh Halls

Poster Session

4:30–5:30 p.m., Weyandt Hall, first floor

The session will highlight female undergraduate/graduate student and faculty research projects. Posters that have been presented in other contexts are welcomed, including the Undergraduate and Graduate Scholars Forum or from other professional meetings.

If you are interested in displaying your poster, please complete and return the submission form to Jessica Stiles at by Monday, March 24.

Awards will be given for outstanding undergraduate and graduate student posters.


March 24, 2014

Submissions received by the deadline can be printed by the Research Institute. Please follow the poster printing guidelines for correct format. Three panel display boards may also be used and will be provided for submissions received after the March 24 deadline.

Awards Ceremony

5:45 p.m., Weyandt Hall, Room 107

  • College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
  • Weyandt Hall, Room 305
    975 Oakland Avenue
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2609
  • Fax: 724-357-5700
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.