Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

The Sociology Department offers two scholarships for its majors. The Esko E. Newhill Scholarship for Excellence and the Mollie E. Bolling Memorial Scholarship are awarded annually to the qualified students at the departmental graduation ceremonies. Further information about the application and selection process is available through the department.

AKD Theta Chapter

The Sociology Department hosts the Theta chapter of the Alpha Kappa Delta Sociology Honors Society. It is one of 250 active chapters nationwide that allow qualified students the opportunity to further excel in their academic career. The AKD Theta Chapter works on various community and social projects and also helps IUP sociology majors receive financial support to attend the American Sociological Association's meetings and Honors Program. It is an excellent representation of the AKD’s overall commitment to the development of scientific knowledge that may be applied to the solution of social problems wherever they are found.

  • Sociology Department
  • McElhaney Hall, Room 102
    441 North Walk
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2730
  • Fax: 724-357-4842
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.