Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Investiture Ceremony Program

The Inauguration of Michael A. Driscoll
as the 26th President of Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Friday, April 26, 2013 • 3:00 p.m.
Fisher Auditorium, IUP Performing Arts Center

Building on a tradition of excellence and opportunity to inspire success


Fisher Auditorium Lobby
The Crimson Winds


“Flourish for Wind Band,” by Ralph Vaughan Williams
Inauguration Band composed of members of the IUP Wind Ensemble and Symphony Band, under the direction of Dr. Jack Stamp

Grand Marshal

Mr. Daniel Shively
Associate Professor, IUP Libraries


Mrs. Susan Delaney
Chair, IUP Council of Trustees

Presenting and Posting of the Colors

IUP Army ROTC Color Guard Cadets Brian Butz, Nicholas Ferragonio, Nicholas Oberholtzer, and Kelsey Reppert

The National Anthem

Led by Mr. Franklin Mosley

Opening Reflections

Mr. Muhammad Ali ElSagheer Suliman
President, Muslim Student Association


Mrs. Delaney

Guest Speaker

Mr. Daniel O. Bernstine
President, Law School Admission Council

Special Greetings

Dr. Karen M. Whitney
President, Clarion University

Mr. Jonathan Mack
Member, PASSHE Board of Governors

Presentation of Constituent Gifts


Dr. Timothy Moerland
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Presented on behalf of the administration and management, along with the governing boards of the Board of Governors, Council of Trustees, Foundation for IUP, Student Cooperative Association, and IUP Research Institute


Dr. Abbas Ali
University Professor

Presented on behalf of the faculty and staff, including all members of the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees; Association of Pennsylvania State College and University Faculties; Coaches; Office of Professional Employees International Union Healthcare Pennsylvania; Pennsylvania Social Service Union; Pennsylvania Doctors’ Alliance; State College and University Professional Association; Security, Police, and Fire Professionals of America


Ms. Melodee Medsger Gett
Prevention Education Specialist, Alice Paul House

Presented on behalf of area elected officials and community members of the greater Indiana area


Mr. Michael Staub
President of the IUP Alumni Association Board of Directors

Presented on behalf of all IUP alumni

“The Last Wall”

Mr. Taylor Billman
President of the Student Government Association

Presented on behalf of all graduate and undergraduate students, current and future, and their families

“The Last Wall” was written by Ms. Clare Welsh and will be recited by Mr. John Glen Vandermark.

Investiture and Oath

Dr. Peter H. Garland
Acting Chancellor, Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education

With Mr. Guido M. Pichini, Mrs. Susan Delaney, and Mr. Daniel Shively

A Musical Timeline

Narrated by Mr. Vandermark

Quentin Bear Fuller, Native American Artist
“Chief’s Honoring Song,” in the Ojibway language

Mr. Shane Velsor, Civil War Era Drummer
“Downfall of Paris” (ca. 1790)

IUP Percussion Ensemble
Dr. Michael Kingan, Director
“The Sharpened Stick,” by Brett Dietz
Mr. Jesse Griffith, Mr. Brandon Kandrack, Mr. Cory Leydic, Ms. Danielle Stoffer, and Mr. John Weldon

Inaugural Address

Dr. Michael A. Driscoll
President, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Alma Mater

Led by Mr. Mosley

In Closing: A Call to Action

The Reverend Tedd Cogar
Assistant Director, Center for Student Life
Pastor, Luther Chapel, Coral

Retiring of the Colors

IUP Army ROTC Color Guard


March from First Suite in E-flat, by Gustav Holst


Please join us for refreshments and music performances in the lobbies of the Performing Arts Center

The IUP Pan-Jazz Trio
Grand Lobby

IUP Legacy Brass Quintet
Grand Balcony

Refreshments will be served in the Fisher Auditorium Lobby and the Fisher Auditorium Mezzanine. 

  • President’s Office
  • Sutton Hall, Room 201
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2232
  • Office of University Events: 724-357-2145
  • Fax: 724-357-3060
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.