Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

2013 Undergraduate Scholars Forum Award Winners

Eberly College of Business and Information Technology

Dean’s Award for Excellence

  • Chioma C. Umunnakwe
    “Ethiopia's Underdevelopment: Rising Beyond Missed Opportunities”

Business Case Competition First Place Award

  • Sara Fossett, Sarah DuFresne, Nicholas Distefano, and Nicholas Magas
    “Google’s Strategy in 2010”

Business Case Competition Second Place Award 

  • Jessica Black and Kathryn Boretky
    “Case Study on Google”

College of Education and Educational Technology

Dean’s Award for Excellence

  • Mary Cristello
    “Bilingualism and Its Impact on Education”

Outstanding Presentation Award

  • Amy E. Paine
    “Are All Women Emotional: A Portrayal of Women in Reality TV”

College of Fine Arts

Dean’s Award for Excellence

  • Nicole A Reinaker
    “Tracing Gothic Architectural Developments: An Iconographic Exploration of Chartres Cathedral's South Transept”

Best Poster Award

  • Lindsey Grove
    “Dance it, Move it, Learn It: Creating an Interdisciplinary Classroom”

Best Performance Award

  • Brent Roberts
    “Exploring music of the Marimba/Vibraphone Duo”

Outstanding Performance Award

  • Dakota J Kaylor
    “The Method to Performing in the Style of Jazz Vibraphone”

Outstanding Presentation Awards

  • Chelsea K. Long
  • J. M. Wasko
    “Civil War! Dissolution of the Self in Researching the War of the Rebellion in Contemporary Art”

Juried Art Exhibit Awards

Best in Show: Ben Pyles, “Planet Ruckus”

  • Dean's Award: Nicole Gencarelli, “Howl”
  • 2-D Award for Excellence: Lim, “Who Sucks?”
  • 3-D Award for Excellence: Britni Rajter, “By-Product”
  • Honorable Mention 1: Chelsea McDonnell, “Germination”
  • Honorable Mention 2: Kathryn Garnier, “Pendant”
  • Honorable Mention 3: Chelsea Long, “Fig.9 The Drunkenness of Noah”

College of Health and Human Services

Dean’s Award for Excellence

  • Christina J. Sponsky
    “Perceptions vs. Misconceptions: What are the Indiana University of Pennsylvania students' perceptions and beliefs regarding dietary supplements safety, efficacy, and regulation policies?”

Best Poster Award

  • Cody Krynock and Franklinn Alexander|
    “Slapshot Speeds and the Variables that Affect Them”

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dean’s Award for Excellence

  • Aaron K. Shaffer
    “The Urban Drainage Problem: Effects of New Development and Redevelopment on Local Hydrology”

Best Poster Award

  • Michele Troutman
    “Lithic Analysis: The raw Materials Present in the Lithic Artifacts of the Johnston Site (36ln2)”

Outstanding Presentation Awards

  • Ashley Alt and Daniel Oberkofler
    “The Effects of Power, Prestige and Performance on Salary in the National Hockey League”

Nicholas R Fazio

  • “Crime and Coffee: The Correlation between Gentrification and Crime Rates in Pittsburgh, 1991 to 2011”

Gabrielle R. Lehigh

  • “Cultural Study of the Homer City Power Plant”

Wenjing Yun

  • “The Determinants of China's Economic Development”

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Dean’s Award for Excellence

  • Sarah Bedwell
    “Effects of Trauma Exposure on Personality Variables, Self-esteem, Coping, and Psychological Outcomes”

Best Poster Award (three-way tie)

  • Samantha Eichelberger
    “Analysis of the zebrafish lhx1a Gene, a Transcription Factor Important for Kidney Development and Regeneration”
  • Kellie Kerner
    “Sedimentological Analysis of the Black River Bay”
  • William Watkins
    “Small-Scale Folding Related to Detachment Tectonics - Northern Snake Range, NV”

Outstanding Presentation Award

  • Wendy Leuenberger
    “A comparison of Lepidoptera communities inhabiting restored and degraded pitch pine-scrub oak barrens in Pennsylvania”

ECO Award Winners

  • Kelly, Muthler, Chloe Stevens, Bryana Urban, Sean Herald, Gabrielle Lehigh, Kathryn Edmondson, Katherine Fox
    “Sustainable Indiana”

Sigma Xi and S-COAM Award Winners

Sigma Xi Award for Best Science Poster, First Place

  • Samantha Eichelberger
    “Analysis of the zebrafish 1hx1a Gene, a Transcription Factor Important for Kidney Development and Regeneration”

Sigma Xi Award for Best Science Poster, Second Place

  • Daniel O'Hara
    “Bootstraps and Planar Regression: An Algorithm to Identify Possible Faults Using Background Seismicity”

Sigma Xi Award for Best Science Poster, Third Place

  • Joy Kiefer
    “Species Diversity of the triolobite Genus Paraplethopeltis in the Manitou Formation of Colorado and El Paso Group of New Mexico”

S-Coam Best Computational Science Poster

  • Teresa Dierks
    “Resonance-Assisted Hydrogen Bonding (RAHB) in Carboxyphosphate”

Best Bibliography Award Winners

First Place

  • Camille Kaszubowski

Second Place

  • Barbara Yockey

Third Place

  • Carrie Aitkins
  • Undergraduate Scholars Forum
  • Stright Hall, Room 129
    210 South Tenth Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2244
  • Fax: 724-357-2715
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.