Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences Conference 2013


The Department of Criminology recently celebrated the 25th year of its Doctor of Philosophy program. The 50th annual meeting of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, “The Politics of Crime and Criminal Justice,” was held in Dallas, Texas, from March 19–23, 2013.

At an IUP banquet celebrating 25 years of excellence, awards were given to the following IUP Ph.D. alumni:

  • Distinguished Scholar: Dr. George Higgins
  • Distinguished Young Scholar: Dr. Tina Freiburger
  • Distinguished Teaching: Dr. Kathrine Johnson
  • Distinguished Service: Dr. Mahfuzul Khondaker

Dr. Robert Mutchnick and Dr. Timothy Austin, two Department of Criminology professors, were recognized as the founders of the doctoral program and spoke to the crowd of over 40 of the department’s Ph.D. alumni.

  • Criminology and Criminal Justice Department
  • Wilson Hall, Room 200
    411 North Walk
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2720
  • Fax: 724-357-4018
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.