Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Program Directors

Heather Powers, PhD

Director of Bachelor of Arts in English
203 Leonard Hall

David Downing, PhD

Professor, Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, Pedagogy, American Literature
Director of Graduate Studies in Literature and Criticism
109A Leonard Hall

Jo-Anne Kerr, PhD

Associate Professor, Secondary English Education
Director of Bachelor of Science in English Education
359 Sutton Hall

Ben Rafoth, EdD

Professor, Composition Theory and Pedagogy, Writing Centers, Research Methods
Director of IUP Writing Center
217 Eicher Hall

Sharon Deckert, PhD

Associate Professor, Linguistics, Discourse Analysis, and Identity Construction
Director of Graduate Studies in Composition and TESOL
111 Leonard Hall

Gloria Park, PhD

Associate Professor, Teacher Identity, Teacher Narratives, Critical Pedagogy, TESOL Teacher Education, NNEST Identity, Qualitative Research
Director of Graduate Certificate in TESOL
346 Sutton Hall

Curt Porter, PhD

Assistant Professor, Language Pedagogy, Critical Pedagogy, Cultural Studies, Curriculum Theory, Educational Philosophy
Director of Master of Arts in TESOL
114B Leonard Hall

Bryna Siegel Finer, PhD

Assistant Professor, English, Writing Across the Curriculum, Writing Teacher Education, First-Year Writing, Researched Writing, Rhetorical Genre Studies
Director of Liberal Studies English; Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
209C Leonard Hall

Todd Thompson, PhD

Assistant Professor, 18th- and 19th-century American Literature and Culture, Literature and Politics, Political Satire, Popular Media, and the Harlem Renaissance
Director of Master of Arts in Composition & Literature
201B Leonard Hall

  • English Department
  • Leonard Hall, Room 110
    421 North Walk
    Indiana, PA 15705-1094
  • Phone: 724-357-2261
  • Fax: 724-357-2265
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.