Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Workshops

The Counseling Center at the Center for Health and Well-Being (CHWB) is offering a series of workshops to talk about issues that commonly affect college students. The workshops will cover a variety of topics, including study skills, stress, sexuality, and stigma. Attendance vouchers will be provided in case you would like to offer extra credit to students who attend.

Spring 2015 Counseling Center Workshops.

Positively Sexy: Sexual Empowerment for Women

  • Wednesday, February 11
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

This workshop will be a safe space to look at sexuality from a sex positive perspective. Attendees are encouraged to consider what good sex is for them, in the context of consent, physical and emotional safety, and fun! Barriers to good sex will be discussed, as will opportunities and strategies to embrace one's sexuality in an authentic way.

Hosted by Camille Interligi, MA (c.j.interligi@iup.edu) and Joelle Bazaz, MA (j.a.bazaz@iup.edu)

Social Class: Let’s Talk About It

  • Wednesday, February 18
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  •  4:30–5:30 p.m.

Have you thought about the impact that money and class have on your daily life and your identity?  What about how class issues play out in your community?  Come to this workshop for an open discussion about money, class, and power.

Hosted by Chiao-Thong Yong, MA (c.yong2@iup.edu) and Gabi Huffman, MA (g.c.huffman@iup.edu)

 Eating Disorders: Fact, Fiction, and Finding a Healthier Way

  • Wednesday, February 25
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Concerns about food, eating, and body image are familiar to many college students; however, there are also a lot of misconceptions about these issues. Come to this workshop to learn how to recognize disordered eating and break down some of the myths surrounding it. Information about healthy eating and how to reach out to someone who is struggling will also be reviewed.

Hosted by Emily Lazar, MA (e.k.lazar@iup.edu) and Abby Costello, MA (a.e.costello@iup.edu)

 “Bootyliscious?” Sexual Objectification in Today’s Music Culture

  • Wednesday, April 15
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Wondering how music shapes our attitudes about relationships, sex, and women? Join us for a discussion about lyrics to today’s most popular music and how it affects our perception of gender, the human body, and sex.

Hosted by Angelica Terepka, MA (a.terepka@iup.edu) and Kristin Faust, MA (k.l.faust@iup.edu)

Bystander Awareness: Learn How to Step Up

  • Wednesday, April 29
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Description: TBA

Hosted by Abby Costello, MA (a.e.costello@iup.edu) and  Jessica Miller, PsyD (jemiller@iup.edu)

Home for the Summer: Transitioning from College Life to Living at Home – Canceled

  • Wednesday, May 6
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.
  • THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELED

For more information, contact the Counseling Center at 724-357-2621

Attendance slips will be provided!

  • The Counseling Center
  • Suites on Maple East, G31
    901 Maple Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2621
  • Fax: 724-357-7728
  • Client Services Spring 2015
  • 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
  • Walk-In Hours:
  • Mon., Tues., Thurs., and Fri., 1:00–3:00 p.m.
  • Wed., 9:30 a.m.–11:30 a.m.