Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Workshops

The Counseling Center at the Center for Health and Well-Being (CHWB) is offering a series of workshops to talk about issues that commonly affect college students. The workshops will cover a variety of topics, including study skills, stress, sexuality, and stigma. Attendance vouchers will be provided in case you would like to offer extra credit to students who attend.

Fall 2014 Counseling Center Workshops.

Behind the Scenes: Mental Health in College

  • Wednesday, October 8
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Are you curious about what mental health, mental illness, and therapy are all about? Come explore the world of mental health and the perceptions and stigma that surround it. Discuss common myths and discover truths about mental health concerns and counseling. Workshop includes resources available on campus.

Hosted by Angelica Terepka, MA (a.terepka@iup.edu) and Laura Syvertson, LMSW (laura@iup.edu)

Let’s Talk About…

  • Wednesday, October 15
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

This workshop will be a safe space to look at sexuality from a sex positive perspective. Attendees are encouraged to consider what good sex is for them, in the context of consent, physical and emotional safety, and fun! Barriers to good sex will be discussed, as will opportunities and strategies to embrace one's sexuality in an authentic way. Individuals of all sexes, gender identities, and orientations welcome.

Hosted by Camille Interligi, MA (c.j.interligi@iup.edu) and Joelle Bazaz, MA (j.a.bazaz@iup.edu)

Got Stress?

  • Wednesday, October 22
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

It seems as if everyone is dealing with some form of stress. Learn the most common sources of stress for college students and tools for effectively dealing with stress. Workshop includes mindful meditation skills and resources available on campus.

Hosted by Kristin Faust, MA (k.l.faust@iup.edu) and David Myers, PhD (dmyers@iup.edu)

Study Smarter

  • Wednesday, November 12
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Stressed out by exams? Struggling to remember what you’ve learned? Feeling like you never have time to study? Many students run into these problems, but are never specifically taught how to solve them. Whether you are new to college or just want to brush up on your study skills, this workshop can help. You’ll have the chance to learn about helpful resources on campus and which test preparation methods may work best for you.

Hosted by Emily Lazar, MA (e.k.lazar@iup.edu) and Eric Rosenberger, PhD (rosey@iup.edu)

Sleep: It Does a Body Good

  • Wednesday, November 19
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 6:00–7:00 p.m.

We all need sleep, but sometimes it gets neglected. Restful sleep is as important as diet and exercise, and is essential for maintaining good health, energy, learning and memory. Come to this workshop to discuss common sleeping problems and learn new ways to get your zzzs.

Hosted by Peter Kozel, MA (p.kozel@iup.edu) and Lisa Mondell, MA (l.mondell@iup.edu)

Home for the Holidays

  • Wednesday, December 3
  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60
  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

The transition from college life to living at home can be stressful. If you think this might be true for you and/or your family members, come and learn about some of the ways that you might prepare for this change and manage the stress of straddling your life at college and your life at home.

Hosted by Gabi Huffman, MA (g.c.huffman@iup.edu) and Jessica Miller, PsyD (jemiller@iup.edu)

For more information, contact the Counseling Center at 724-357-2621

Attendance Slips will be provided!

  • The Counseling Center
  • Suites on Maple East, G31
    901 Maple Street
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2621
  • Fax: 724-357-7728
  • Client Services Fall 2014
  • 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
  • Walk-In Hours:
  • Mon., Tues., Thurs., and Fri., 1:00–3:00 p.m.
  • Wed., 11:00 a.m.–Noon and 2:30–3:30 p.m.