Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Three AAUW-Indiana Scholarships Awarded to IUP Women Students

Dr. Susan Wheatley with Scholarship Winners Hannah Matthews and Kayla Bennett

Dr. Susan Wheatley with scholarship winners Hannah Matthews and Kayla Bennett

Three $500 American Association of University Women Scholarships were awarded to academically outstanding IUP women students in need by the AAUW-Indiana Branch through collaboration with the IUP Women’s Studies program. The AAUW-Indiana Scholarship Award Banquet was held on April 23, 2014, at Rustic Lodge in Indiana. 

Dr. Susan Wheatley, Hali Santiago, and Patricia Holmes

Dr. Susan Wheatley, Hali Santiago, and Patricia Holmes

Susan Wheatley, professor of Music at IUP and president of the AAUW-Indiana Branch, presented the AAUW-Indiana Scholarship to IUP Women’s Studies minor Hali Santiago, a Criminology/Psychology double major and a Women’s Studies minor. The AAUW-Indiana Scholarship to a Non-Traditional Female Undergraduate or Graduate Student was presented to Kayla Bennett, an MFA student in Sculpture in Art, and Hannah Matthews, an IUP English major and Women’s Studies minor. Three finalists for the scholarship, Lynnan Mocek, Shawna McCutcheon, and Olubukola Salako, were also acknowledged. 

Dean Asamoah (second from left) attended the AAUW Scholarship Banquet.

Dean Asamoah (second from left) attended the AAUW Scholarship Banquet.

Attendants at the Scholarship Banquet included Dean Yaw Asamaoh from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at IUP; Patricia Holmes, AAUW-Indiana vice president; Patricia Heilman, AAUW-Indiana treasurer, retired IUP faculty member, former chair of the Journalism Department, and former president of statewide APSCUF; Judith Yothers, AAUW secretary; Lingyan Yang, director of the IUP Women’s Studies program and associate professor of English; and many local women community members of AAUW in Indiana County.

AAUW Indiana Branch community members

AAUW Indiana Branch community members

Yang delivered the keynote speech, “Empowerment of Women, Support for Women’s Academic Excellence in Higher Education, and the Importance of Communities of ‘Galaxies of Women’,” to express profound gratitude to AAUW-Indiana Branch’s wonderful leadership and generous support for academically outstanding women students in need, and to acknowledge the shared mission between AAUW and Women’s Studies to advocate for women’s rights, gender equity, and support for women’s pursuit of academic excellence and professional distinction by overcoming all obstacles. 

The productive, collegial, and very successful collaboration between AAUW-Indiana Branch and the IUP Women’s Studies program in the 2013–2014 academic year exemplifies the long-term feminist tradition of strong alliances between higher education institutions and women in the local, state, and national communities to support and empower women academically and professionally.

Posted on 4/30/2014 4:00:44 PM

Share This Page

Recent News

    Subscribe to the Women’s and Gender Studies News Feed

    RSS Feed

    • Women’s and Gender Studies Program
    • Stabley Library, Room 103
      429 South Eleventh Street
      Indiana, PA 15705
    • Phone: 724-357-4753
    • Fax: 724-357-2281
    • Office Hours
    • Monday through Friday
    • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
    • 1:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.