Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Avoid Website Frustration: Log Into Staging, Not Production

Website authors and approvers must be certain to only work on the IUP Staging server. The IUP website is updated every day by copying the entire contents of the Staging server onto the Production server (the live site) at 2:00 a.m. every morning. Therefore, any website edits done on the Production server will be automatically erased.

Whether you are editing or approving Web content, we don’t want you to waste your time and be forced to recreate content because of accidentally logging into the wrong location. Always make sure you are working on the Staging server.

How Do I Know if I’m on Staging?

  • Look at the Web address (URL). You should see “staging” in front of the regular www.iup.edu part of the URL. 
    • http://staging.www.iup.edu/page.aspx?id=679
  • staging logoThe word “Staging” will appear in yellow text on top of the IUP logo at the top of the page.
  • The login page is titled “CMS Login
  • The word “Staging” will appear at the top right of the CMS work area.

staging work area

logout buttonIf you have logged into the website, but do not see “Staging” over the IUP logo, and do not see “staging” in the URL, you have mistakenly logged into Production. The login page will also have the title “Website Login.” Log out immediately!

If you have the work area open and see the word “production” in red letters at the upper right, log out immediately!

production work area

The Staging login link is http://staging.www.iup.edu/iuplogin. To eliminate the chance of accidentally logging into Production, website authors and approvers should bookmark this page and use that bookmark in order to log in. 

Here is more information about logging into the Staging server and using the work area.

  • Web Team
  • Sutton Hall, Room 316
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-3062
  • Fax: 724-357-5512
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.