Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Sailing Club Co-sponsors Adventure Films Screened to Benefit Yellow Creek State Park, December 5, 6

The IUP Sailing Club is co-sponsoring Adventure Films Screened to Benefit Yellow Creek State Park at the Appalachian Film Festival. The festival will be on Thursday, December 5 and Friday, December 6 at 7:00 p.m. at the Indiana Theater.

Adventure lovers and outdoor enthusiasts find extreme challenges in the fields, hills, forests, and waterways of Pennsylvania. Residents are invited to enjoy the sights and challenges of the outdoors through the lenses of independent film makers at the first Appalachian Film Festival.

The festival will be held at the Indiana Theater at 7PM on December 5th and 6th. Admission is $6 at the door ($5 in advance through the theater or Indiana bike shops). Proceeds benefit the non-profit Friends of Yellow Creek State Park. IUP Sailing Club will be on hand to sell popcorn and drinks.

The festival presents the work of independent film makers from across the country through short films and excerpts. Viewers will experience the drama of adventure racing, free BASE jumping, ice climbing, rock climbing, white water rafting. As a special treat, viewers will get a preview of a film featuring local racers Julia Pollock and Toby Angrove.

Both athletes will be present to talk about the films and answer questions. The full-length "Expedition Adventure" will premiere on NBC Universal Sports in December.

This film was produced by Indiana-resident Douglas Crytzer. In addition to co-sponsoring the Appalachian Film Festival, Mr. Crytzer is Founder and President of Gnarly Crew Media; his company, American Adventure Sports produces the North American Adventure Racing Series.

Friends of Yellow Creek State Park, and the IUP Sailing Club are the presenting sponsors.

  • Student Organizations
  • Center for Student Life
    Pratt Hall, Room 303
    201 Pratt Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2598
  • Fax: 724-357-2351
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.