Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

IUP Shares in Telling Indiana’s Hometown Story on Public Television, August 9

Our Town Indiana 271Faculty, retired faculty, alumni, and staff joined members of the community in sharing stories about Indiana today and in history for Our Town: Indiana, premiering Thursday, August 9, at 8:00 p.m. on WPSU-TV.

Several members of the IUP community share stories from yesteryear:

  • Alumnus and historian John Busovicki talks about the history of Indiana County, including IUP's role in it.
  • Library faculty member Theresa McDevitt shares IUP history, highlighting significant roles women played in it.
  • Professor of history emeritus Irwin Marcus tells the dramatic story of the Rossiter coal mine strike in the 1920s.

Other storytellers provide a contemporary focus:

  • We get the story of the IUP Residential Revival from Jack Makara, assistant director for Assessment and Academic Initiatives in Housing, Residential Living, and Dining.
  • Director Hank Knerr turns the spotlight on the smash hits and more of the Lively Arts at IUP.
  • Alumnus and Indiana County Commissioners chair Rod Ruddock and Media relations director Michelle Fryling discuss IUP's close relationship to Indiana.

Professor Steve Loar's 3D design class is featured in a segment by the Indiana Arts Council.

Community volunteers share great stories about the Jimmy Stewart Museum, Thunder Mountain Pow Wow, Yellow Creek State Park, and other beloved facets of life in Indiana County.

Out-of-town friends can watch the live broadcast online at

IUP is a cosponsor along with Indiana Regional Medical Center; Indiana County Tourist Bureau; Indiana County Center for Economic Operations; S&T Bank; Soft-Lite/Gorell; The Reschini Group; First Commonwealth Bank; and Indiana County Manufacturing Consortium.

  • Communications and Marketing Office
  • Sutton Hall, Room 316
    1011 South Drive
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-3062
  • Fax: 724-357-7993
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.