Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Music Department News

Music News

Please visit our Lively Arts Calendar for the most up-to-date information on music, theater, art, and dance events presented by the College of Fine Arts.

Faculty and Staff: To suggest a news item for a local event, please submit through the Lively Arts News page.

Contemporary Collaboration Performance Includes U.S., France, and Japan

The Ovation! series will present Strings and Serpents, an international collaboration that explores a synthesis of Japanese and Western structures by merging musical and visual form, performed on October 22, 2014.

Posted on 10/14/2014 3:07:59 PM

Beeken Busy as Guest Conductor

Ryan Beeken, director of Choral Studies at IUP, recently returned from guest conducting festivals in Iowa and Ohio.

Posted on 10/16/2014 1:08:12 PM

Want To Learn Piano? Department of Music Elective Offerings

The IUP Department of Music will offer several elective courses in spring 2015 for music majors and non-majors.

Posted on 10/15/2014 10:07:58 AM

Ertl Performs Guest Recital for Alia Musica in Pittsburgh

IUP piano faculty member Jacob Ertl will perform a guest piano recital for Alia Musica, a new Pittsburgh-based music organization, on Sunday, November 9.

Posted on 10/13/2014 12:49:26 PM

Guest Artist Vauth to Present Piano Recital and Master Class

Henning Vauth will present a master class on Wednesday, October 8, and perform a piano recital that evening. Both events are free and open to the public.

Posted on 10/3/2014 10:44:26 AM

Play in a Community Band!

Did you play in band in high school or college? Ever wish you kept playing? The Indiana Symphonic Winds (community band of the IUP Community Music School) is looking for members.

Posted on 9/12/2014 3:42:03 PM

IUP String Project Accepting Applications for Fall 2014 Semester

The IUP String Project, a community music education outreach program for children ages 5–18 in the Indiana area, is accepting applications for private lesson instruction on violin, viola, cello, and bass. Applications are due on September 10.

Posted on 8/31/2014 2:13:36 PM

Jennings Leads First Cello Workshops and Performs World Premieres in Thailand

In July and August of 2014, Linda Jennings was invited to lead cello pedagogy and performance workshops in Bangkok and Chiang Rai, the first programs of this kind in Thailand.

Posted on 8/31/2014 12:27:36 PM

  • Music Department
  • Cogswell Hall, Room 103
    422 South Eleventh Street
    Indiana, PA 15705-1071
  • Phone: 724-357-2390
  • Fax: 724-357-1324
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.– 4:00 p.m.