Middle States Accreditation

  • Welcome to IUP Middle States Accreditation 2016, our decennial university accreditation review.

    Accreditation by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education is one of the vitally important ways IUP serves students, alumni, faculty, staff, and the community.

    Accreditation provides external validation that IUP upholds the MSCHE Characteristics of Excellence in Higher Education (pdf, 454 KB) in all respects—academic programs, faculty and staff expertise, campus services, finances, governance, and more.

    A key component of IUP Middle States Accreditation 2016 is the IUP Self Study, an assessment made by the IUP community of the progress the university has made since our last reaffirmation of accreditation.

    What does IUP do well? Where is improvement needed?

    The IUP Middle States Steering Committee is please to announce the final version of the IUP Self Study is now available for download and print. The document has been approved by the Steering Committee and endorsed by IUP's administration and the Council of Trustees.

    It's an ideal time for accreditation review. Under the leadership of President Mike Driscoll and Provost Tim Moerland, IUP is charting its future course with a new Strategic Plan. As we look forward together to where the university is going, we benefit from a clear understanding of where we have been. 

    Laura Delbrugge
    Hilliary Creely
    Co-Chairs, Steering Committee
    IUP Middle States Accreditation 2016

  • A Message from Dr. Driscoll

    IUP President Mike Driscoll discusses the importance of IUP’s Self Study in the reaffirmation of accreditation process and encourages all members of the campus community to provide feedback.

  • 780px MSCHE Logo and Blurb
  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104. (267-284-5000) The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.