Alumni Extra: Updates

Alumni Extra Photo Collage


Share your photos and stories on line! E-mail your updates to the IUP Communications Office at


Rich Zielinski ’70 shared a piece in the book Dammit I Love You and is working on a second book of stories after his 2014 Short Stories of a Strange Man. (12/12/2016 1:16:43 PM)
Shelly Lipscomb Echeverria ’89 has illustrated her first children’s book, My Elephant-Sized Dream. (12/7/2016 4:17:09 PM)
The YMCA of Greater Pittsburgh has renewed the term of Mike Tomera ’90 as treasurer on its board of directors. (12/7/2016 3:57:58 PM)
Linda Toki ’87 took second place in photography in the 2016 BarnArt Show in Gettysburg. (12/7/2016 3:42:04 PM)
Real Trends has named Erin Krueger ’02 one of nation’s top real estate professionals. (12/7/2016 3:08:36 PM)
The YMCA of Greater Pittsburgh named David Bluemling ’85 vice chair on its board of directors. (12/7/2016 1:15:24 PM)
CNN’s Joann Sierra ’85 won four awards in the White House News Photographers Association’s 2016 Eyes of History video contest. (12/6/2016 4:31:54 PM)
Sara Barnett Lawer ’06, M’08 has written a chapter for Lasting Impressions: Laying the Foundation for Engaged and Philanthropic Future Alumni. (12/2/2016 4:38:12 PM)
John Hollmann M’81 has published a book, Project Risk Quantification. (12/2/2016 3:50:08 PM)
The “White House gang” celebrated the retirement of Bill Lewis ’81 in July 2016. (11/30/2016 1:22:03 PM)
Northampton Community College has hired Elyse Holben ’08 as director of scholarship programs. (11/30/2016 12:55:53 PM)
While conducting research in Saudi Arabia, Georgia Tech doctoral student Stephen Shiring ’12 received a visit from his father, Stephen Shiring ’81, M’85. (11/30/2016 12:33:07 PM)
Oasis roommates Gwen Lacoe Arnold ’78, Donata Magnani Malone ’79, Karen Vincent Kos ’79, Brenda Royer Hughes ’78, Marta Tridico Urban ’79, Sheree McQuaide Wagner ’78, and Jayne Cramer Bahrenburg ’85 gathered in Indiana in spring 2016. (11/29/2016 11:27:26 AM)
IUP’s Dietetics Internship program recently brought together Cameron Cutler ’15, Judy Visco Dzimiera ’76, M’78, Susan Carns Cottongim ’84, and Wendy Hartsock Polk ’88. (11/22/2016 3:49:24 PM)
Tyler Dummermuth ’14 and Desiree Donley Dummermuth ’15 shared photos from their wedding and their IUP days. (11/22/2016 3:27:40 PM)
A number of IUP Safety Sciences graduates took part in Owens Corning’s recent production-line rebuild at its plant in Fairburn, Georgia. (11/22/2016 3:01:47 PM)
Mary Harwick ’58, M’60 has received the Volunteer of HOPE Award for her work with inmates. (11/22/2016 2:23:18 PM)
Joan Frey Boytim ’55, M’64 has received the National Association of Teachers of Singing’s Lifetime Achievement Award. (11/22/2016 1:53:53 PM)
Andrea Ocepek Geraghty ’74 made Super Lawyers’ 2016 list of top attorneys in Pennsylvania. (11/22/2016 12:30:33 PM)
Charles Taormina ’70 and Dane Konop ’75 were interviewed by Nick Tyson ’16 about their Vietnam War protests in 1969-70. Dane also recently led a tour of the Battle of the Monongahela site in North Braddock. (11/22/2016 11:26:18 AM)
Alysia Burton Steele ’97 featured 54 African American grandmothers in her book Delta Jewels: In Search of My Grandmother’s Wisdom. (8/5/2016 11:02:00 AM)
Wen Yee Yeung Gregson ’99, M’01 was chosen as the British representative to the NATO Saxophone Orchestra. (8/4/2016 4:56:35 PM)
Carlos Richardson ’00 was named Friendship Public Charter Schools’ 2014 Teacher of the Year. (8/4/2016 3:51:17 PM)
Marcia Cackowski Ballinger ’83 was named president of Lorain County Community College. (7/28/2016 3:05:27 PM)
Sandy Koeppl Barsotti ’87 has launched BarComm (Barsotti Marketing & Communications), a full-service firm in Pittsburgh. (7/28/2016 2:19:53 PM)
MaryBeth Nobers Hockenberry ’85 was appointed to Allinial Global’s Business Development/Marketing Committee. (7/28/2016 1:36:07 PM)
Jeff Krakoff ’86 is now owner and president of Stryker-Munley Group–Pittsburgh, as well as Krakoff Communications. (7/28/2016 10:57:24 AM)
Shepherd University’s Sonya Evanisko ’89 was named West Virginia’s 2015 Professor of the Year. (7/28/2016 10:32:48 AM)
Eric Zahren ’90 was elected executive director of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission. (7/27/2016 4:57:58 PM)
Prolifiq Software CEO Jeff Gaus ’81 returned to IUP as executive/entrepreneur-in-residence. (7/27/2016 4:39:36 PM)