Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

How to Manage Sent Items

 

Not What You’re Looking For?

or Browse by Categories

Within imail, you have the option to save a copy of each message you send. By default, these messages are saved in a folder called Sent Items. It’s important to review this folder periodically and delete unneeded messages so that you don’t exceed your e-mail quota.

If you do not wish to save a copy of each message you send:

  1. Login to imail.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Compose tab.
  4. Scroll to the Defaults section.
  5. Click in the Save Sent Messages in: text box.
  6. Click None.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Click Close.

Notes:

  • When this option is changed to None, your Sent Items folder is no longer considered a special folder and will no longer appear in the grouping with your other special folders (Inbox, Drafts, etc). It will appear alphabetically with the other folders you created.
  • When you select None, you do not have the option of overriding this for an individual message. You would need to enter your e-mail address as one of the recipients to save a copy.

If you wish to save a copy of each message you send in the Sent Items folder:

  1. Login to imail.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Compose tab.
  4. Scroll to the Defaults section.
  5. Click in the Save Sent Messages in: text box.
  6. Click Default.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Click Close.

Note: You can override this on an individual message. In the Compose window, click the Options tab, then remove the checkmark next to Save a copy in Sent Items. (If Save Sent Message in is set to None, the checkbox will not appear on the Options tab.)

Last modified on 8/2/2011 11:24:15 AM
URL: http://www.iup.edu/itsupportcenter/howto.aspx?id=94211

  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
  • ihelp.iup.edu