IUP artmark

Student Accounting Association

  • Mission of Organization

    The mission of the IUP Student Accounting Association shall be to further interest in the field of Accounting through educational meetings on options within the industry, to unite all IUP students studying accounting and those interested in learning about the profession, and to provide students with the opportunity to network with potential employers.

    How to Join

    The SAA accepts all business majors and all university students who share enthusiasm and passion for the field of accounting. Membership into the organization shall be open throughout the year, and the first step to join is to attend and sign in at a meeting. To ultimately become a member, interested students must earn five membership points.

    How to Earn Membership Points

    Active membership in the SAA is not based on paying membership dues; it is based on earning membership points. Once a student earns five points, they become an active member for the current semester. In order to maintain membership in the SAA, students must continue to earn five points every semester. Points can be earned by attending the meetings and events.

    List of 2016–17 Meeting Dates/Times/Locations

    • Thursday, February 2, 2017
      4:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: MaryBeth Allen, Campus Recruiter, EY
    • Monday, February 20, 2017
      6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: Amy Lewis, Senior Manager, Maher Deussel
    • Thursday, March 23, 2017
      4:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: Brady Wise, PNC
    • Wednesday, March 29, 2017
      5:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: Carley Mendez, Human Resources Representative, Schneider Downs
    • Tuesday, April 11, 2017
      5:00 p.m.-600 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: Emily Saunders, Finance Manager, UPMC
    • Tuesday, May 2, 2017
      6:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: Alyssa Shubra, Corporate Accountant, The Hillman Company

    All accounting majors and minors and business majors with an interest in accounting are encouraged to attend. A student officially becomes a member by earning at least five points.

    List of Events/Activities

    • SAA Dinner
      Tuesday, April 25, 2017 
      5:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m., Rustic Lodge
      Group Business

    Member Quotes about the Value of the Organization

    "I owe so much of my success to the Student Accounting Association. I would not be where I am today without the help of this organization. Not only has the Student Accounting Association given me so many great opportunities, but it has helped me grow into a better student and person."
    Alison Rykaczewski, SAA President 2015

    "My goals for college were to meet great people, understand the business world, network with professionals, and ultimately graduate with my dream job. The Student Accounting Association is helping me to accomplish all of those... and more!"
    —Lisa Fletcher, Recognition Dinner Chair 2015

    “The Student Accounting Association has helped me to discover many of the answers to the questions that I have been asking myself."
    —Victor Sipe, Community Service Chair 2015 

    Officers and Chairs
    Advisor Kim Anderson Kim.Anderson@iup.edu
    President Katie Swauger K.A.Swauger@iup.edu
    Senior Vice President Maura Wilkinson M.E.Wilkinson@iup.edu
    Vice President Clayton Terible C.A.Treible@iup.edu
    Vice President of Finance Justin Palaschak
    Social Media Chair Emily Lathrop
    Institute of Internal Auditors Kylie Hissem
    Recognition Dinner Chair Jennifer Brand J.R.Brand@iup.edu
    Community Service Chair Sarah Smietana

    Career Day Chairs Quinn Cunningham and
    Katelyn Cramer
    Resume Chair Matthew Miller
    Social Events Chair Amber Nerlich
    Publicity Chair Jordan Schofield and
    Adriana Emanuilova
    J.L.Schofield@iup.edu A.E.Emanuilova@iup.edu
    COBSAC Chairs Sarah Kolar and
    Elizabeth Varner
    Mentoring Chair Anthony Maticic A.M.Maticic@iup.edu
    Field Trip Chair Alec Martin and
    Laria Moore
    A.M.Martin@iup.edu L.R.Moore2@iup.edu