Student Accounting Association

  • Mission of Organization

    The mission of the IUP Student Accounting Association (SAA) shall be to further interest in the field of Accounting through educational meetings on options within the industry, to unite all IUP students studying accounting and those interested in learning about the profession, and to provide students with the opportunity to network with potential employers.

    How to Join

    The SAA accepts all business majors and all university students who share enthusiasm and passion for the field of accounting. Membership into the organization shall be open throughout the year, and the first step to join is to attend and sign in at a meeting. To ultimately become a member, interested students must earn five membership points.

    How to Earn Membership Points

    Active membership in the SAA is not based on paying membership dues; it is based on earning membership points. Once a student earns five points, they become an active member for the current semester. In order to maintain membership in the SAA, students must continue to earn five points every semester. Points can be earned by attending the meetings and events.

    List of 2015-2016 Meeting Dates/Times/Locations

    • Thursday, September 3, 2015
      5:00 p.m.–6:00 p.m., Eberly Room 409 
      Guest Speaker: Daryl Sherred, Tax Manager, PWC
    • Tuesday, October 6, 2015 
      5:00 p.m.–6:00 p.m., Eberly Room 211 
      Guest Speaker - Carley Mendez, SR Snodgrass
    • Monday, October 19, 2015 
      5:00 p.m.–6:00 p.m., Eberly Auditorium 
      Guest Speaker - Bob Murphy, CEO/Managing Partner, Boyer Ritter
    • Thursday, November 12, 2015
      6:00 p.m.–7:00 p.m., Eberly 411
      Guest Speaker - Nicole Shook, Manager, KFMR
    • Tuesday, December 1, 2015
      6:00 p.m.–7:00 p.m., Eberly 411
      Student Panel 
    • Wednesday, January 27, 2016
      4:30 p.m.–5:30 p.m., Eberly Auditorium
      Guest Speaker: Richard Lansberry, Associate National Examiner, Office of Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)
    • Tuesday, February 16, 2016
      6:00 p.m.–7:00 p.m., Eberly Room TBA
      Guest Speaker: Nicole Shook
    • Tuesday, February 23, 2016
      5:30 p.m.–6:30 p.m.
      Guest Speaker: Michael Colgan, PICPA
    • Wednesday, March 23, 2016
      6:30 p.m.–7:30 p.m., Eberly 311
      Guest Speaker: Heath Winsheimer, Senior Manager, BDO USA
    • Tuesday, March 29th, 2016
      6:00 p.m.–7:00 p.m., Eberly 211
      Guest Speaker: Nicole Shook, Manager, CliftonLarsonAllen

    All accounting majors and minors and business majors with an interest in accounting are encouraged to attend. A student officially becomes a member by earning at least five points.

    List of Events/Activities

    • Social Event 2016
      Tuesday, April 12, 2016
      7:00 p.m.–9:00 p.m., Mohawk Lanes
      Social Event - Bowling
    • Recognition Dinner 2016
      Thursday, April 21, 2016
      5:00 p.m.–8:00 p.m., Rustic Lodge

      Guest Speaker - Susan M. Cosper, Technical Director, FASB
    • Community Service Event 2016
      Saturday, April 23, 2016
      12:00 p.m.–2:00 p.m., Oakland Avenue

      Community Service Event - Trash Cleanup

    Member Quotes about the Value of the Organization

    "I owe so much of my success to the Student Accounting Association. I would not be where I am today without the help of this organization. Not only has the Student Accounting Association given me so many great opportunities, but it has helped me grow into a better student and person."
    Alison Rykaczewski, SAA President 2015

    "My goals for college were to meet great people, understand the business world, network with professionals, and ultimately graduate with my dream job. The Student Accounting Association is helping me to accomplish all of those... and more!"
    —Lisa Fletcher, Recognition Dinner Chair 2015

    “The Student Accounting Association has helped me to discover many of the answers to the questions that I have been asking myself."
    —Victor Sipe, Community Service Chair 2015 

    Officers and Chairs
    Advisor Dr. Kim Anderson Kim.Anderson@iup.edu
    President Alyssa Schaard
    a.n.schaard@iup.edu
    Senior Vice President Lisa Fletcher l.r.fletcher2@iup.edu
    Vice President Sarah Zbur S.A.Zbur@iup.edu
    Vice President of Finance Victor Sipe
    V.S.Sipe@iup.edu
    Social Media Chair Justin Palaschak
    J.P.Palaschak@iup.edu
    Tutoring Chair Zack Kinger
    Z.A.Kinger@iup.edu
    Recognition Dinner Chair Nicole McCourt N.L.McCourt@iup.edu
    Community Service Chair Katie Swauger
    K.A.Swauger@iup.edu
    Career Day Chairs Quinn Cunningham &
    Brittany Spitzer
    Q.M.Cunningham@iup.edu B.A.Spitzer@iup.edu
    Resume Chair Clayton Treible
    C.A.Treible@iup.edu
    Social Events Chair Sara Bertram
    S.L.Bertram@iup.edu
    Publicity Chair Gina LaRocca
    G.C.LaRocca@iup.edu
    COBSAC Chairs Lindsey August &
    Lindsay Hochendoner
    L.C.August@iup.edu
    L.M.Hochendoner@iup.edu
    Mentoring Chair Jennifer Brand J.R.Brand@iup.edu
    Field Trip Chair Lexi Murin A.J.Murin@iup.edu