Society for Human Resource Management

  • Mission of Organization

    The mission of SHRM is to provide opportunities for students to interact with human resource professionals in a mutually beneficial way for both parties.

    How to Join

    Interested students should e-mail iupshrm@gmail.comto get more information. Students can join nationally by going to the Society for Human Resource Management website and clicking “Membership Center” then “Student Membership,” completing the application, and enrolling under IUP or entering our chapter ID number, 5181.

    Requirements of Members (Membership Fees, Attendance, etc.)

    • Must be enrolled in at least six credit hours in any field of study.
    • Must be an undergraduate student (graduate students should contact the IUP Employment and Labor Relations Department about our graduate chapter).
    • Dues are $10 ($40 optional fee to obtain a 12-month membership to SHRM National).

    List of 2015-2016 Meeting Dates/Times/Locations

    SHRM Undergrad meetings are held on Tuesdays at 6:00 p.m. in the Eberly Room 220, unless otherwise noted.

    • February 16
    • March 1
    • March 8
    • March 22
    • March 29
    • April 12
    • April 26

    List of 2015-2016 Events/Activities

    For more information, please attend a scheduled meeting, e-mail an officer or check out SHRM's IUP calendar.  

    Member Testimonials

    "SHRM has really changed my life, given me so many professional opportunities and great connections."
    -Heather Carlino

    "SHRM has given me leadership skills, new friends, and shown me what a career in Human Resources will be like."
    -Brittany Davis

    Useful Links

    Please Note: IUP SHRM undergrad does not currently have a Sponsoring SHRM Professional Chapter.

    -Officers
    Advisor Dr. Bob Buchanan Dr.Bob@iup.edu
    Advisor Dr. Mike Kosicek  kosicek@iup.edu
    President Heather Carlino H.L.Carlino@iup.edu
    Vice President  Stephanie Huwie S.Huwie@iup.edu
    Director of Communications
    Brittany Davis B.Davis2@iup.edu
    Treasurer Jack Kelly J.M.Kelly2@iup.edu
    Secretary Ali Fellows A.C.Fellows@iup.edu