Association of Management Information Systems

  • Mission of Organization

    To provide a forum for IUP students interested in the Management Information Systems (MIS) field to:

    • Learn additional skills and knowledge about MIS.
    • Better prepare themselves for careers in MIS through discussion of resume writing/interviewing/networking skills and in the dissemination of information on jobs and internship opportunities.
    • Meet and socialize with other students interested in MIS.

    How to Join

    Meetings are currently held in Eberly 111 on Thursdays every week at 7:00 p.m. All of our events and meetings are listed on our Facebook page— IUP A.M.I.S. or contact Dr. Hyde at micki.hyde@iup.edu.

    Requirements of Members (Membership Fees, Attendance, etc.)

    A.M.I.S. requires membership dues of $25 per semester or $40 for the whole academic year. This covers both Fall and Spring semesters. Though attendance is not required, it is highly encouraged. Students of any major can join AMIS. Every member must be involved in one committee within the organization.    

    List of 2015-2016 Meeting Dates/Times/Locations

    Every Thursday, 7:00 pm, Eberly 111

    List of 2015-2016 Events/Activities

    • Professional development with various industry professionals
    • LAN Parties
    • Guest speakers
    • Bayer Database Tour

    Member Quotes about the Value of the Organization

    “A.M.I.S. allows members to get a more hands-on view of information systems than they would in a classroom -- by hearing from others in the field, going to businesses, and conversing with peers who have a broad base in business and information systems.”
    —Aaron Corso, Past President

    Officers
    Advisor Dr. Micki Hyde hydem@iup.edu
    Advisor Dr. Pankaj Pankaj@iup.edu
    President Deric Schmidt D.C.Schmidt@iup.edu
    Vice President Aleksandr Krachanko A.M.Krachanko@iup.edu
    Vice President of Communications   Kevin Fradeneck K.J.Fradeneck@iup.edu
    Secretary  Erik Larson E.M.Larson@iup.edu 
     Treasurer Andy Selker  A.P.Selker@iup.edu