Association of Management Information Systems

  • Mission of Organization

    To provide a forum for IUP students interested in the Management Information Systems (MIS) field to:

    • Learn additional skills and knowledge about MIS.
    • Better prepare themselves for careers in MIS through discussion of resume writing/interviewing/networking skills and in the dissemination of information on jobs and internship opportunities.
    • Meet and socialize with other students interested in MIS.

    How to Join

    Meetings are currently held in Eberly 111 on Thursdays every week at 6:00 p.m.  For more information, check out our Crimson Connect page—AMIS or contact Micki Hyde at micki.hyde@iup.edu.

    Requirements of Members (Membership Fees, Attendance, etc.)

    AMIS requires membership dues of $25 per semester or $40 for the whole academic year.  This covers both fall and spring semesters. Though attendance is not required, it is highly encouraged. Students of any major can join AMIS. Every member must be involved in one committee within the organization.    

    List of 2016–17 Meeting Dates/Times/Locations

    Every Thursday, 6:00 pm, Eberly 111

    List of 2016–17 Events/Activities

    • Professional development with various industry professionals
    • LAN Parties
    • Guest speakers
    • Bayer Database Tour

    Member Quotes about the Value of the Organization

    “AMIS allows members to get a more hands-on view of information systems than they would in a classroom -- by hearing from others in the field, going to businesses, and conversing with peers who have a broad base in business and information systems.”
    —Aaron Corso, Past President

    Officers
    Advisor Micki Hyde hydem@iup.edu
    Advisor Pankaj Pankaj@iup.edu
    President Andy Selker A.P.Selker@iup.edu
    Vice President Nick Tarpenning N.W.Tarpenning@iup.edu  
    VP of Communications   Kylie Victoria K.J.Victoria@iup.edu  
    VP of Project Management Jenn Springer  J.A.Springer@iup.edu  
    Treasurer   Alexa Pilarski  A.G.Pilarski@iup.edu
    Secretary
    Richie Myers   R.E.Myers@iup.edu