Skip to Content - Skip to Navigation

Overview of the Appalachian Region

Subregions in Appalachia

Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC)

A regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal cochair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multicounty local development districts.

Appalachian Studies Association (ASA)

A scholar association established by a devoted group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists. They believe that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia.

  • Center for Northern Appalachian Studies
  • McElhaney Hall, Room G-1
    441 North Walk
    Indiana, PA 15705
  • Phone: 724-357-2841
  • Fax: 724-357-7637
  • Office Hours
  • Monday through Friday
  • 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
  • 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.